atap logo

Association of Assistive Technology Act Programs

ATAP Annual Recognition Awards

ATAP Annual Award for 2017

At ATAP's 2017 Annual Hill Day, ATAP was honored to give the third annual award to three staffers who worked closely with ATAP to insert language into the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) regarding ensuring full accessibility for digital assessments. These three staffers were: Jared Soloman, Legislative Aide for Senator Bob Casey (D-PA); Brett Layson, Legislative Aide for Senator Johnny Isakson (R-GA); and Josh Deleaney, Legislative Aide for Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA). These three staffers understood the importance of ensuring full accessibility to digital assessments as it is a large part of ensuring that all students are a part of a general education. Their commitment to making sure language was included in the final iteration of the ESSA was a feat to be acknowledged and ATAP is grateful for their efforts to push this through the finish line of the ESSA reauthorization.

Image of Audrey Busch, Jared Soloman, Brett Layson and Josh Deleaney

ATAP Annual Award for 2016

During ATAP's 2016 Annual Conference, ATAP was honored to give the second annual award to Chol Pak, Professional Staffer on the Majority Senate Labor, Health and Human Services (LHHS) Appropriations Subcommittee. Chol Pak, who worked for the Chairman of the Senate LHHS Appropriations Subcommittee, Senator Roy Blunt (R-MO), worked closely with ATAP regarding funding for the Assistive Technology Act. Pak served as a champion for the State Assistive Technology Act programs in fiscal year 2016. Pak demonstrated a sincere interest in learning about the program and following the transition of the program to a new federal agency, both of which were very valuable and appreciated by ATAP.

2016 Annual Recognition Award Image Gallery

Main Image

Item 1 of 6
  • Audrey Busch standing at podium
  • Chol Pak making acceptance speech for award
  • Chol Pak accepting award from Audrey Busch
  • Audrey Busch and Chol Pak with award
  • Panel with Chol Pak, Kelly Brown, and Bill Knudsen
  • Audrey Busch moderating for panel session, panel with Chol Pak, Kelly Brown, and Bill Knudsen

ATAP Annual Award for 2015

ATAP was honored to give the first award to Robin Juliano. Robin previously worked for now retired Senator Tom Harkin from Iowa. Senator Harkin served as the Chairman of the Senate Labor, Health and Human Services (LHHS) Appropriations Subcommittee where Robin worked as a Professional Staffer and handled many issues, one of them being the Assistive Technology Act. Juliano worked closely with ATAP over the course of several years to ensure that in the Senate's LHHS Appropriations funding bills, the Assistive Technology Act received full funding of $38 million. The Assistive Technology Act truly benefited from all of Robin's hard work and dedication to ensuring the AT Act received the federal funding necessary to continue the great work being done across the country.

Robin Julaino holding Annual Award